I Got a DUI in West Palm Beach—Can I Fight It?
DUI offenses continue to be one of the main causes of accidents and deaths in the state of Florida. Although in recent years, the numbers have thankfully shown some downtrend. It’s an unfortunate situation all around, one that spurs more and more driving school courses that essentially convey this simple advice–don’t drink and drive! Yet, so many drivers are out there on the road are intoxicated, choosing to ignore this state mandated mantra. It stands to reason that you don’t want to get caught drinking and driving in the state of Florida. If you do get caught, you could be facing some serious penalties depending on if you’re a first–time offender or if you have multiple offenses. If you were recently issued a DUI in West Palm Beach and are worried that your license may be suspended or revoked, you are not alone. More than 50,000 DUI’s were issued alone in Florida in 2018. Did you know that in the state of Florida, you may be able to drive your vehicle up until your court date? It’s important that you know what all of your rights are when preparing to fight your DUI. That is why you need an experienced law firm like the Law Office of Patrick McKamey on your side to fight for anything you may be entitled to. A high percentage of individuals who are cited for a DUI are ultimately convicted in Florida. Depending on the severity of your DUI, penalties for first time offenders can include:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- 180 days to one̵